chess quotes

Backgammon Online

Share and you will gain!
Crazy name, real interests
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)

Have you ever played Backgammon online? It is a lot of fun. So come play Backgammon online with us!

PLAY BACKGAMMON ONLINE
Sign up now to play backgammon online for FREE!
backgammon online

dominoxxx 30 ( +1 | -1 )
HELP ME Can someone please explain to me the En-Passe rule.

As I simply just do not understad it and many peple makea move I'm not expecting due to my lack of knowledge.

If someone could try explaining it as though I were a 2 year old it might sink in......bear in mind I am female and It probably already shows.

Thanx

D xxx
brunetti 22 ( +1 | -1 )
For a two-year baby Your opponent moves his pawn two steps.
If he moved one step and you could take it with your pawn, then you can take it.
Just think to it having moved one step and capture there.

Alex
dominoxxx 18 ( +1 | -1 )
ok so if i am approaching him and he moves only one space because i would have taken him if he had moved two can i treat it as though he had moved twoand pretend I have taken an invisible pawn?
certainratio 214 ( +1 | -1 )
here is the rule: An example first:

Imagine you are looking at a board on a computer
screen with the pieces in their initial setup,
with White on the bottom. Imagine the following
moves are played: 1. e4 a6 2. e5 d5.

Now in White's 2nd move, she placed a pawn on
the fifth rank. Then, Black responded by pushing
a pawn two squares forward to d5 coming to rest
on the square just to the left of White's pawn
on e5. Now, White may, if she wishes, choose
to take the Black pawn that just moved as if it
has just moved only 1 square instead of 2. If
White doesn't do this immediately she forfeits
the right to do it later. If she chooses to
take the pawn, this is what happens: she moves
her pawn from e5 to d4 and removes the black
pawn from d5, thus completing her move. Notice
that the White pawn does not land on the
square that the black pawn was just on. Rather
the White pawn lands on the square that the
Black pawn would have been on had it only moved
one square instead of two.

The rule in general:
1. White capturing a black pawn en passant:
If White has a pawn on the 5th rank and black
moves a pawn two squares forward to the 5th rank
ending up just to the left or just to the right
of the white pawn, then White may capture the
pawn on the very next move exactly as if it
had moved just one square (provided of course
that such a move doesn't cause White to be
in check after it is completed). If White doesn't
capture the pawn on the very next turn after
black has just moved his pawn into position, then
White cannot capture that pawn en passant in the
future.
2. Black capturing a White pawn en passant:
This situation is a complete mirror image of the
situation described above. This time, if Black
has a pawn on the 4th rank, and White moves a
pawn forward two squares ending up next to the Black pawn, then the black pawn may capture the
white pawn as if it had just moved one square
(subject to the same restrictions noted above).

I hope this helps.

-CertainRatio
schachfruend 4 ( +1 | -1 )
Do you know the ELO system of notation first?

a2 b2 c2 etc?
certainratio 5 ( +1 | -1 )
i made a typo sorry. change "d4" in my second paragraph
to "d6"

-CertainRatio
dominoxxx 3 ( +1 | -1 )
Thanks I think I understandit...

Dxxx
brunetti 3 ( +1 | -1 )
ELO? Mispelled woman... :)

Alex
dragon-wolf 49 ( +1 | -1 )
En Passant If White has a pawn on the 5th row and black moves an adjacent pawn 2 squares, bringing the pawn beside of White's pawn, White may capture En Passant (in passing) as if Black only moved the pawn one square. But only for that move. If you don't use the en passant right away, you cannot use it in the future. Of course this only applies to that one black pawn. Another pawn being moved up in the same manner can be captured.

I hope this clarifies it for you.

Peace and Love,
John
dominoxxx 2 ( +1 | -1 )
Thanks John.....Am i forgiven now?
dragon-wolf 7 ( +1 | -1 )
You're Welcome Nothing to forgive, babes.
We cool!

Peace and Love,
John
vietnamese_girl_18 44 ( +1 | -1 )
Ingrid (domino)

Hope you understand now... this rule confuses many people. Several times I've played beginners over a real board and had them refuse to believe there was even such a rule! It's certainly a strange rule... but, well, you wrote:

"bear in mind I am female and It probably already shows."

I know you're just being lighthearted, but I hope you don't really think you're at a disadvantage as a woman!

Sarah