free chess online

Backgammon Online

Vote and you will gain!
Funny name, real interests
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)

Have you ever played Backgammon online? It is a lot of fun. So come play Backgammon online with us!

PLAY BACKGAMMON ONLINE
Sign up now to play backgammon online for FREE!
backgammon online

tamasha321 36 ( +1 | -1 )
Radjabov vs Deep Junior Hi anyone seen this game man vs machine II posted at -> www.chessbase.com

or google radjabov vs deep junior played on 3.12.2006.

I am baffled as to how black could castle against the rules of castling???? anyone else noticed it? Thanks for the reply.....
ganstaman 22 ( +1 | -1 )
No castling rule was broken.

You're thinking of the fact that the king can't castle through a check, but this says nothing about the rook. The rook is even allowed to be under attack when castling.
tamasha321 2 ( +1 | -1 )
Thanks ganstaman.
More: Chess
ccmcacollister 17 ( +1 | -1 )
tamasha321 ... Exacktly, as per ganstaman! But dont feel bad, even a world class Grandmaster once brought this same question up in a tournament. And I wondered for years myself.
ionadowman 54 ( +1 | -1 )
The grandmaster... ... to whom ccmcacollister refers was one Yuri Averbakh, during his visit the Australia and New Zealand in 1966. Apparently Australia's C.J.S. Purdy (I think those were his initials) casled Q-side with his rook attacked in an exhibition game with Averbakh, who promptly queried it and had to be informed of this aspect of the rules. The same holds true if the Queen's Knight's Square is under attack: the King doesn't cross it or land on it, so castling is legal.
Quite a rare occurrence either way, so you can see how even a GM might not be aware of it!
Cheers,
Ion
cairo 30 ( +1 | -1 )
Even Viktor Korchnoi, once under a tournament game, had to ask the arbiter, if it was legal for him to castle!! I forgot what time and which tournament it was, perhaps others memories, are better than mine!

Best wishes
Cairo
tamasha321 36 ( +1 | -1 )
Thanks a lot guys. I surely feel a lot better now. :)))) I can't explain how awful i felt as castling and en passent are such basics. I could not believe i been playing chess maybe like past 4 years and spent so much time on chess and missed this. I am glad to have found out now rather than in a some real tournament.

Cheers!
ganstaman 57 ( +1 | -1 )
Definitely don't feel bad. If I recall correctly, Korchnoi has been playing since nearly the caveman days. His opponent castled while his rook was under attack. Korchnoi then asked if it was legal. He later explained that in all his years of chess, such a situation has never come up. It was just one of those things no one ever taught him (or he didn't pay attention to), and until he dealt with it first hand, he just didn't know.

Using similar reasoning, I no longer feel quite as bad for walking into a mate-in-1 in a tournament game. If Kramnik can do it, why can't I? :)
thunker 31 ( +1 | -1 )
ganstaman's right... And that cracks me up - "If Kramnik can do it"... Good one gansta!!.... haha..
Blunders & ignorance are like invisible creatures - always lurking and waiting for that perfect opportunity to strike at the worst possible time! And they infest all of us whether we are aware of it or not. The only cure is to keep on playing... and perhaps learning a bit as you go....